The cautionary tale of “Jim, Who ran away from his Nurse, and was eaten by a Lion”

illustration

illustration Fridays word this week 'caution'

Ive added a with and with out text because i’m know typographer now am I, did try tho…

illustration Fridays word this week 'caution'

My recent interest in cautionary tales has been sparked by illustration Fridays word this week ‘caution’ ive made a book cover for “Jim, Who ran away from his Nurse, and was eaten by a Lion” i have enjoyed this, as its given me a opportunity to try and make some thing that could be use for a book cover, i know i need to work on type a bit more..anyways what do you think? how could it be improved ? what did you do?

I’ve also join the illustration friday forum as jamespepper

I’m looking forward to seeing you there!

well what a title if you like that you really need to go do some reading on Hilaire_Belloc the write on other amazing stories such as “Matilda, Who told lies, and was Burned to Death” original illustration show below

Matilda, Who told lies, and was Burned to Death

"Matilda, Who told lies, and was Burned to Death"

6 thoughts on “The cautionary tale of “Jim, Who ran away from his Nurse, and was eaten by a Lion”

  1. I love your illu, it’s wonderfully done! :)

    As for the typography… it doesn’t look so bad to me. Maybe experiment a little bit more. If it was my layout, I would use a darker colour for the title so that the colours of the illustration stand out more. Second, I’d use only one font, and use the type (in this case) horizontally. Ah, and in “ByHilaire Belloc” there’s a space missing! ;)
    Anyway, your illu stands out and can’t be ruined! ;)

    Like

  2. I like the almost 3d-ish effect on the lion and boy. And I really like how you have hand cut the text. I would have liked it better if you gave the “by Hilair..” the same treatment though. It looks a bit too slick next to the rest.

    Also I origianally thought the boy was hiding behind the lion. Perhaps if it was sort of a solid block instead of just the lines.. I don’t know..

    But I agree on the nice coulors and everything else. So yeah..

    By the way. I woke up the other day and my french press was broken. Don’t know how I did it, but it’s the first one since England. Unfortuanatly it was Tales..

    Like

Leave a Reply

